Vol.2 Standards Sessions

Release 3 February 2023

Vol. 2 , Standards Sessions offers a beautiful successor to the Vol. 1 package of lush-but-fresh interpretations of standards. Offering even more indispensable ingredients to every jazz musician’s repertoire, Vol. 2 sports a star-packed lineup led by vibraphonist Jim Hart, accompanied by some of the UK’s finest musicians. Rising star saxophonist Rachael Cohen, internationally celebrated guitarist Romain Pilon, MOBO-nominee and Whirlwind Records-founder Michael Janisch on double bass, and 3-time Grammy nominee Jason Brown on drums join Hart in the studio for new interpretations of pieces every jazz fan knows and loves.

From swinging opener “Locomotion” and Dexter Gordon’s evergreen “Cheese Cake” to Coltrane’s ballad “Lonnie’s Lament” and Simon&Marks’ ever-sultry “All Of Me”, Vol.2 offers ample opportunity for every instrumentalist to combine their skills and creativity with those in the band. Perhaps the youngest standard on the album is “Windows”, by late-but-great pianist Chick Corea, welcoming pianists to this record. Closing track “Airegin”, named after a picture of Nigerian dancers (and indeed spelling ‘Nigeria’ backwards), is a piece by Sonny Rollins and the Miles Davis Quintet which was recorded in 1954. It became a standard as soon as it was released, and was one of three compositions Davis let Rollins add to the 10″ they released together that year.

Vol. 2 offers a trip through jazz history by some of today’s greats, with one big difference: it never sounds the same without you.

Available in our app

Listen on


Meet the Masters